PolyPerception

Polyperception aims to radically increase the percentage of household packaging waste recycling in Europe to make the circular economy a reality.

They use artificial intelligence (AI) and cameras to help recycling and waste sorting facilities optimise their performance. Better performance means they can sort waste more efficiently, and therefore achieve higher recycling rates and full traceability of their end-to-end process.

They install cameras and use their AI models to predict for each waste object its type, surface area and mass. They are able to identify each object to be recycled (blue bag) and manage to increase operational efficiency from 60% to over 95%.

Thanks to their unique process, their system can be upgraded quickly and with low-cost equipment and can be adapted very quickly to changes in waste, sorting decisions and new customers.

Their customers are recyclers, waste sorting facilities, waste authorities and FMCG brands. Launched in March 2021, the company currently has 4 paying customers in 3 countries (BE, CH and FR) and two industry partners (BE and NL). They are currently working on a partnership with a large public machine manufacturer that could strengthen their distribution and credibility.

 

Societal impact

Polyperception’s activity contributes to Goal 12 “Responsible consumption and production” (12.5 & 12.6) of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.

Want the following documents in ENglish ? Contact us (info@citizenfund.coop)

PolyPerception

Polyperception vise à augmenter radicalement le pourcentage de recyclage des déchets d’emballages ménagers en Europe afin que l’économie circulaire devienne une réalité.

Ils ont recours à l’intelligence artificielle (IA) et à des caméras pour aider les installations de recyclage et de tri des déchets à optimiser leurs performances. Une meilleure performance signifie qu’ils peuvent trier les déchets plus efficacement, et donc atteindre des taux de recyclage plus élevés et une traçabilité complète de leur processus de bout en bout.

Ils installent des caméras et utilisent leurs modèles d’IA pour prédire pour chaque objet de déchet son type, sa surface et sa masse. Ils sont capables d’identifier chaque objet à recycler (sac bleu) et parviennent à augmenter l’efficacité opérationnelle de 60 % à plus de 95 %.

Grâce à leur procédé unique, leur système peut évoluer rapidement et avec un matériel peu coûteux et s’adapte très vite aux changements de déchets, aux décisions de tri et aux nouveaux clients.

Leurs clients sont des recycleurs, des installations de tri des déchets, des autorités chargées des déchets et des marques de produits de grande consommation. Lancée en mars 2021, la société compte aujourd’hui 4 clients payants dans 3 pays (BE, CH et FR) et deux partenaires industriels (BE et NL). Ils travaillent actuellement sur un partenariat avec un grand fabricant de machines publiques qui pourrait renforcer leur distribution et leur crédibilité.

 

Impact societal

L’activité de Polyperception contribue aux objectifs 12 “Consommation et production responsables” (12.5 & 12.6) des Objectifs de développement durable des Nations Unies.