Urbike

Urbike is a cyclo-logistics cooperative that provides 4 complementary services to improve the quality of life in cities: delivery, advice, training and equipment sales.

Created in 2018 and following an initial public offering, urbike is starting its BCklet project, a pilot project for last mile distribution by bike. The project is supported by the Brussels Region and carried out in partnership with Smart, VUB (MOBI), USL-B and Febecoop, as well as with renowned clients such as bpost, CSD, Delhaize and MultiPharma.

In 2019, after a successful pilot project, urbike will launch its first official bicycle deliveries and hire its first employee. Urbike is the winner of numerous prizes and awards (Bike Brussels Award 2018, SE’nSE Fund 2018, Transport & Logistics Award 2020, Brussels Social Economy Award 2020, Ashoka Impact Program 2022, Hub Awards 2022), launches numerous projects (Cairgo Bike, CityLine, launch of deliveries in Antwerp and Ghent) and models the city, notably with the adaptation of the highway code at federal level in favour of cyclo-logistics.
In 4 years of activity, urbike has delivered more than 200,000 parcels, travelled 150,000 km, avoided 50 tonnes of CO2 emissions, has 332 cooperators and 40 employees (26 full-time equivalents).

The urbike team is made up of 49% employees, 34% workers via Smart (Smart is a shared company that allows people to develop their activities and work autonomously within the secure framework of employee status), 8% students and 9% partners. It should be noted that in terms of time worked, employees represent approximately 75% of the total volume. urbike employees have access to shares in the cooperative which are reserved for them, and actively participate in the development of the company’s governance.

 

Societal impact

urbike’s activity contributes to goal 8 “Decent work and economic growth” (8.5), and goal 11 “Sustainable cities and communities” (11.6) of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals.

 

Please ask us to get the following documents in english (info@citizenfund.coop)

John van der Heyden studied economics and has extensive expertise in banking, marketing, innovation and e-commerce, and now works at BNP Paribas Fortis.

urbike

Urbike est une coopérative de cyclo-logistique qui assure 4 services complémentaires pour améliorer la qualité de vie en ville : livraison, conseil, formation et vente de matériel.

Créé en 2018 et suite à un premier appel public à l’épargne, urbike démarre son projet BCklet, un projet pilote de distribution du dernier kilomètre à vélo. Le projet est soutenu par la Région bruxelloise et mené en partenariat avec Smart, la VUB (MOBI), l’USL-B et Febecoop, ainsi qu’avec des clients renommés, tels que bpost, CSD, Delhaize et MultiPharma.

En 2019, après un projet pilote couronné de succès, urbike lance ses premières livraisons officielles à vélo et engage son premier salarié. Urbike est lauréat de nombreux prix et awards (Bike Brussels Award 2018, Fond SE’nSE 2018, Transport & Logistics Award 2020, Prix bruxellois de l’Economie Sociale 2020, Ashoka Impact Program 2022, Hub Awards 2022), lance de nombreux projets (Cairgo Bike, CityLine, lancement des livraisons à Anvers et Gand) et modélise la ville, notamment avec l’adaptation du code de la route au niveau fédéral en faveur de la cyclo-logistique.

En 4 ans d’activité, urbike a livré plus de 200.000 colis, parcouru 150.000 km, a évité 50 tonnes d’émission de CO2, compte 332 coopérateurs et 40 travailleurs (26 équivalents temps plein).

Le peloton d’urbike est composé de 49% de salariés, 34% de travailleurs via Smart (Smart est une entreprise partagée qui permet de développer ses activités et de travailler de manière autonome dans le cadre sécurisé du statut de salarié), 8% d’étudiants et 9% de partenaires. Notons qu’en temps de travail presté, les salariés représentent environ 75 % du volume total. Les collaborateurs d’urbike ont accès à des parts de coopérative qui leur sont réservées, et participent activement à l’élaboration de la gouvernance de l’entreprise.

 

Impact sociétal

L’activité d’urbike contribue aux objectifs 8 « Travail décent et croissance économique » (8.5),  et 11 « Villes et communautés durables »  (11.6) des Objectifs de Développement Durable des Nations unies.

John van der Heyden a étudié l’économie et dispose de larges compétences dans le domaine bancaire, du marketing, de l’innovation et du e-commerce, et travaille aujourd’hui chez BNP Paribas Fortis.